Realm Of Randomness

November 28, 2007

iHate – Winter special

Filed under: Humour,Rant — Randomizer @ 4:08 am

Some more things that have been pissing me off lately. See my first list here.

christmas.jpg

  • It’s Christmas. So there! It was like a time bomb, waiting for November to approach – and when it did, BOOM! The trees were lit, the radio stations switched to Christmas carols and the malls turned into shades of red and green! Christmas is on December 25th – NOT November 1st or 10th or 30th or any other day! WTF! I’m in absolutely no mood for celebrating something that’s more than a month away, but it’s being shoved in my face everywhere I go. I want to have the ‘most wonderful time of the year’ when it’s TIME for the most wonderful time of the year – not two months before it!So keep those Santas off the road, those Jingle Bells records off my radio and those Christmas offers off my face! I will celebrate it when I want to!
  • Quick. Give me a script for our Christmas episode! I just got back from the gym where I was forced to watch an episode of ‘Bones‘ while jogging … I should have known that even shows such as this one, that are about violent crime and murder mystery, will not be spared the inevitable ‘Christmas script’. So how do you include Christmas into such dark, violent, shows? Simple – Today’s episode was about a murderer who was one of the Santas at the mall. Cool – I’d never have thought of that. The script was pure genius.
  • The paparazzi and the news they make: Yeah, so I take a peek at the funny headlines on my way out of the grocery store – and guess what most of the news these days is on – Yep, it’s still Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie. For a whole freaking year. And Britney Spears. And Paris Hilton. But that’s at least ok. What I hate is the way they literally make the news they report – For instance ‘Britney Spears runs over photographer’s foot‘ – It’s like when there’s no news to report, they just make something happen anyway and then report it ! It’s the stupidest thing in the world ! You hound and chase a person till he/she does something stupid or yells at you – and *that* is the news you report – These criminals aren’t worthy of any of the privileges of the free press and deserver to be put in jail.
  • The ‘Animate every animal’ project – Ants = Antz. Bug = A Bug’s life. Penguin = Dance of the penguins/Surf’s up. Animals in the sea= Finding Nemo. Animals in the wild = Madagascar. Animals on a lawn = Over the hedge. Animals in a kitchen/bathroom = Flushed away/Ratatouille. Animals that buzz = Bee Movie. Animals that are extinct = Ice age. Animals from fantasy = Shrek 1, Shrek 2, Shrek 3 and the dozens to follow.And after all this, I see the advertisement for Kung Fu Panda when I went to the theater this weekend.
  • Dear folks at Dreamworks/Pixar – Before you contact Jim Carrey about lending his voice to your newly animated cockroach/frog/skunk, I just want you to know – I THINK WE GET THE IDEA ALREADY !

5 Comments »

  1. I like your list but there were a coupla surprises in there – #1 YOU JOG? #2 while watching BONES? for F*ck sake that has got to be one of the lamest shows ever. If they HAD TO make it why not call it Vampire boy meets pasty face, it’s more relatable.

    As for F’ing Xmas – how did Christmas become Xmas? And if you think Christmas is bad where you are – you should see what it’s like here in the Middle East! My Filipino neighbour has had his bells, wreath and fake holly out since the beginning of November! The malls have offers and Christmas Trees in the windows and you know what it’s 25 degrees outside… And what really pisses me off is the Arabs say they hate America and that they aren’t allowed to celebrate other festivals and what not, yet they’re the first ones that want their kids to sit on Santa’s F’ing lap…

    As for trends that I hate – I’d add organized religion right at the top…

    Happy Hanukkah!

    Comment by Luciferratic — November 28, 2007 @ 1:18 pm | Reply

  2. @Luciferratic – In my defense, it was the first episode of Bones I’ve watched, and also hopefully my last :).

    You know, there’s another controversy doing the rounds here – replacing the word ‘christmas’ with ‘holiday’. As in ‘Home for the holidays’ instead of ‘Home for Christmas’ … ‘Happy holidays’ instead of ‘Merry christmas’… There’s some new age political-correctness orgy going on around here, and it’s really weird. Some stores are calling the ‘Christmas tree’ the ‘Holiday tree’ … an incident at Boston here.

    The funny thing is, no one’s afraid of saying Happy Hanukkah, or Happy Diwali … it’s just that when it’s Christmas, people feel they are offending the non-christians by being non-inclusive.

    Let’s leave organized religion for another day and another post. :)

    Comment by Randomizer — November 29, 2007 @ 12:34 am | Reply

  3. Oh… dont get me started on political correctness… I didn’t mean to let the cat out of the bag, but that was going to be my first post (IF and) when I start blogging…

    Yes I’ve heard of the Happy Holidays crap and although I’m not a fan of religion or the associated festivals I don’t see why a popular religion like Christianity or its followers should feel the need to show that they aren’t so popular?! Maybe this is a new fangled terrorist approach – they just destroy your identity, your sense of belonging and your community spirit and when you have nothing bonding you anymore, they come in and take you out!

    (ok yes I agree that was a lil over the top – forgive me, I haven’t had my morning cuppa)

    Comment by Luciferratic — November 29, 2007 @ 6:46 am | Reply

  4. And the latest…Santas in Aussie Land are banned from saying, ‘Ho Ho Ho’ it sounds more like whore supposedly. Someone had to think that up *now* in 2007!

    iLike the last iHate :)

    Comment by Joy — December 6, 2007 @ 9:44 am | Reply

  5. @Joy – ‘Ho ho ho’ Yeah, I heard about that as well! You know what I really wonder – I wonder if there were actually some women groups who complained that it was offensive, or if it was just some extra-politically-correct politician trying to win brownie points when there was no complaint about this at all ! I wouldn’t be the least surprised if it was the latter – but really, this is going waaay too far

    Comment by Randomizer — December 8, 2007 @ 12:56 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

