Realm Of Randomness

January 24, 2008

Assorted movie reviews

Filed under: Movie,Review — Randomizer @ 2:51 am

Here’s a movie round-up from the last couple of months. I think it’s fair to say that I have averaged at least a movie a week not including my DVD rentals :-P. There are NO SPOILERS in the following reviews, and the rating should hopefully only serve as a guide to whether or not you should watch this particular movie.

Juno A+

I watched this movie twice already. The lead actress, Ellen Page, has been nominated for an Oscar for this role, and this movie is already an Oscar nominee for Best film! Witty from start to finish, the dialogue is like a game of pro-level table tennis, quick and sharp. It’s not only hilarious but heart warming as well, with the familiar Michael Cera playing what is becoming his standard character these days, but no one’s complaining. A must watch by all means, and definitely my choice for the Oscar’s best movie.

Cloverfield A- This movie was a masterpiece in directing/cinematography/visual effects . To really enjoy it, you really need to try not to step away and be skeptical or over-analyze it when you watch it. If you do, it might come across silly at times, but otherwise, it’s a real gripping film. It was directed by the creator of the hit TV series Lost, so you can expect some high quality scenes in this movie.

Taare Zameen Par A-

I’m guessing I’m one of the last people to have watched this movie. I loved it, I thought it was superb, and I’m even happier that it was a box office hit as well. The official site is pretty impressive, check it out. Superb acting all round, and pretty realistic. Could have been a little shorter in my opinion, which is the only reason there’s a – next to the A. If a movie can move you close to tears, then heck, it’s done it’s job of having the viewer totally engrossed.

Beowulf B+

You should watch this in a 3D theater or you shouldn’t watch it at all. If you like fantasy, folklore, and tales of magical creatures, you will really like this movie. The graphics was pretty amazing. Definitely one of the better animated flicks of 2007.

No Country for Old Men B+

This one’s up for 8 Oscar nominations this year! I thought it was a good thriller, excellent direction, and great acting. I’d give it only a B+ though, for reasons we could discuss after you watch it !

American Gangster B+

This isn’t really a ‘theater’ movie, I guess you can wait for the DVD or whatever. But it is a good watch, great performances by Denzel Washington and Russel Crowe.

I am legend B-

Good scenes, good footage, good video effects, good acting by Will Smith. I’d say it’s a mix of Castaway and 28 days later… except it was much less realistic than both of them. I’d say you could wait to watch this on your TV / DVD as well.

Dan in real life B-

Ok I know I must be sounding like the most jobless person on the planet :-P , but going to watch a movie has become quite a habit over the last year, especially since it was my only entertainment during the long months of my thesis. Anyway, Dan in real life was a sweet comedy… a romantic comedy would be more like it I’d think.

Away from her B-

This is a very Oscar-esque movie, and rightly so – it’s nominated the lead actress Julie Christie for an Oscar. It’s pretty ‘senti’, and ‘slow’, but it’s sweet nevertheless.. I’m not sure how many of you would be up for it… especially given that description :)

I now pronounce you Chuck and Larry F

The worst movie ever made. I do not want to waste any more bits of storage on the wordpress servers dissing this movie, so I will stop right here.

Hope to see some more great flicks this year !

4 Comments »

  1. Thanks for the reviews – I have to agree I am legend was a complete rip off of 28 days later. I’m surprised you gave it a B, you’re far too generous.

    As for Taare Zameen Par – Aamir Khan is the only reason I watch hindi flicks anymore… and what do you mean by ‘move you CLOSE TO tears’? We went for the last show and were waiting outside watching everyone come out with red and puffy eyes. :) I agree, if a movie can stir up emotion, then its been worth the watch. As for the length, I’d have to say that the Indian masses have come to expect hindi movies to be long how else would you justify paying to go watch them at a cinema when they’re screened in a month on the tele? Poora Paisa Wasool!

    Comment by Luciferratic — January 28, 2008 @ 6:27 pm | Reply

  2. Nice to see you back, Luciferratic! Well, it’s nearly the end of month 1 in 2008, so where’s that blog of yours ? :)

    I agree I tend to be kind of generous. The thing is, I don’t quite feel right giving ‘I am legend’ a ‘C’, (the next lower grade after B-) , just because when I was watching the movie, I wasn’t thinking ‘Damn this is a C grade movie’ … It definitely held my attention, and Will Smith’s performance was A grade … the script writers failed him, but I still thought it was a B-ish movie. It was a total rip-off of 28 days, I really wonder if there weren’t some copyright issues involved … or maybe this post-apocalyptic zombie thing has become so cliched that no one bothers !

    Comment by Randomizer — January 29, 2008 @ 1:53 am | Reply

  3. Cheers for these reviews, I was wondering what to see next week!

    Comment by imaginaryband — January 31, 2008 @ 8:41 am | Reply

  4. American Gangster reminds me yet again what a versatile actor Russell Crowe is… plus Ridley Scott deftly leads us into loving the bad guy and disliking the good guy only to flip that around by the end of the movie… very clever.

    Comment by patrick — March 5, 2008 @ 11:23 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

