Realm Of Randomness

April 15, 2008

Let sleeping dogs (and movies) lie

Filed under: Humour,Movie,Rant — Randomizer @ 3:16 am

I have this habit of reminiscing too much. I often think about how it was, growing up in the 80’s and the early 90’s and love thinking about all those shows and movies that defined those wonderful years of my childhood. To name just a handful, I was crazy about the Knight rider, the Ninja turtles, the Terminator, Home Alone, Back to the Future, Perfect strangers and countless other movies and shows that to this day, bring back fond memories every time I hear some tune from their respective soundtracks.

Well, ever since YouTube and online video hit the scene, and I mean really became a part of everyday life, I have been constantly tempted to re-visit some of these old shows. Not just movies or shows that I watched and enjoyed, but even those that I missed that I wish I hadn’t when growing up.

Take the Star Wars trilogy for instance, and I mean the original trilogy(4,5 and 6 in the series). I watched it when I was way too young to understand or remember it, and so I lost out on the Star Wars phenomenon… which, for kids of the 80’s is a cardinal sin. At 25, after watching more than a 100 pop-culture references to scenes from the trilogy and failing to understand them, I finally decided to sit down and watch them. And that’s where I am taking you with this post …

Let sleeping movies lie.

There is really *no* way you can put yourself in the shoes of someone who is living in the 70’s, and honestly enjoy all that the movie has to offer. This is 2008, and there is no way you can turn back time. You are not only used to some serious out-of-the-world computer graphics, but even without your knowledge, you have come to expect so much quality from the direction, cinematography and editing. Things just aren’t the same. That which you call a ‘cliche’ today, was at some point perhaps the best line in a movie !

The first of the trilogy was seriously hard to get through, but the next two were thankfully better. Had it not been such a legendary trilogy, I would have gladly abandoned the series after the first one. I should have learned my lesson after watching an episode each of the Ninja turtles and Perfect strangers, both of which I found much less exciting than I remembered them to be, but no – I forgave and forgot. Finally, a week or so ago I picked up this movie, ‘The Running man’, which I must have watched in ’89 or ’90 as a little kid, that I had really found exciting and had always wondered about since I’d forgotten most of the story. It starred Arnold Schwarzenegger in a futuristic action packed reality show…. and boy, right from the opening scene I just couldn’t wait for the movie to get over! It was one of the most horrible movies I’ve ever seen – the cheesiest of dialogues, the most cliche-ridden characters ever, and a story so predictable that anyone who watched it would consider pursuing fortune-telling as a career. It was that bad.

That was the last straw. No more sci-fi movies of the past. Missed ‘2001: a space odyssey’? Well, too bad. Missed the original Star Trek series that *everyone* swears by? Too bad, I missed that too. Don’t know head or tail about the characters in the ‘Wizard of Oz’? So be it. I choose ignorance over a waste of 2 hours.

And I will definitely choose the gradual waning of my fond memories over the complete erasure of their beauty. These movies shone at some point in time, and unlike books or even songs, they have an ‘expiry date’ whether you wish to believe it or not. Feel lucky that you tasted it while it was good, but don’t ever eat a ten year old apple.

3 Comments »

  1. ha ha ha!

    Well I agree with you, mostly I’ve experienced the same. You’re left asking yourself, “So what’s the big deal?”. Though I must also admit that there are a few shows and movies which seem timeless, at least till they inevitably reach their “expiry date”. I’ll try to list down a few TV shows which IMHO are as entertaining as some of the shows on TV today.

    1. Small wonder – it’s as cute and hilarious today as it was in 1985

    2. MASH- I’m still tripping on season 1 man, and I only watched it first in 1992, which was at least 10 years after the show was aired. Humm! speaking of which, I do realise I hardly understood MASH as a 9 year old.[:)]

    3. Alfred Hitchcock presents- again, the first season which was directed by Hitchcock himself. I think some of the episodes are much better than many of his movies.

    4. Whose line is it anyway?- both the US and the UK versions. Though the US one seems better “staged”.[:)]

    5. Simpsons – It took 19 seasons to inspire a movie which disappointed. Even the 8th season is funnier than the movie.

    7. Friends- ok at least I gotta give it to the makers, they held their audiences for 10 seasons and then let go aptly, while their fans still grow in numbers(hostels in manipal for proof).

    8. Remington Steele: I feel Pierce Brosnan was more suave as Remington Steele than in any of his roles in the Bond outfits.

    As for movies I can name several that you have to watch but that’s for my next comment. [:)]

    cheers!

    Comment by Sudhir Pai — April 19, 2008 @ 10:38 am | Reply

  2. I’ll just add one to that list….. Tom & Jerry!!
    (or is it just me?)

    Comment by eyw — April 30, 2008 @ 5:33 am | Reply

  3. Hey there!

    just thought I should let you know I’m back on the blogosphere :)
    Do drop by!

    Joy

    Comment by Joylita — May 27, 2008 @ 10:12 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.